1949 BUICK ROADMASTER HEAT RISER

autonut

Wondering if any of you have had any issues with the heat riser on the exhaust manifold?  Can any of you send me a picture by any chance?

On left is the heat sensor coil but there isn't a place for the spring tab to fasten against.  Also on the right side is a spring on the lower part of the lever but it is just a short spring with again nothing to hook to.  Plus that fact that it is completely froze up and these are very difficult to free up again.  I have had some experience with another vehicle and this one the manifold was off the car and still had great difficulty in freeing up again. I am wondering if any of you have any advice?  Hate to remove the manifold if at all possible naturally.  Can anyone send me a picture of their heat riser and where both ends are suppose to connect to?  That would help but to free the valve is going to be a problem I'm sure. Did spray it with anti-rust spray but doubt if that is going to help much. Tough problem!!! Open to any and all help.

Autonut Lee

p.s.  Also I have one missing zerk fitting on one of the control arms.  They usually screw in on most cars but looked at these and they do not appear to be that type.  There is no hex on the fitting in order to put a wrench on it and screw it out.  Are they pressed in or what???  Why should one be missing if they are pressed in etc.  I wouldn’t think they would come out easily.
Autonut Lee

Edited by autonut (see edit history)

Mine was frozen solid so I gently tapped the shaft back and forth until it was free, gradually turning as you tap. It takes a while but will free up, after I got it moving I drilled a small hole on each shoulder just in as far as the shaft to make it easier to get graphite into the joint. The small spring on the arm should attach to a metal tab held by a bolt in the exhaust flange.

good luck and have patience.