A Tale of two El Caminos

car crazy

My El Camino story starts in 1972,when I was a sophomore in High School. I had a job at a local wheel alignment shop,Weber Wheel Alignment (still in business today!) in West Palm Beach. Directly across the street from the shop was Independent Truck Equipment, a business that rebodied trucks to customer order. The owner of the shop,Rocky Derr, quite a character,drove a fully-optioned ‘68 El Camino SS 396, deep burgundy with black top and black interior that he'd bought new. Rocky had special ordered the El Camino to his specifications. It had bucket seats, console, power windows, tilt wheel, a/c, bed rails,mag-style wheel covers, and, of course, the powerful 396 engine.-it was fully loaded, fairly unusual for the time, as I recall.
Rocky enjoyed the "muscle" of his SS, and, from time to time, particularly after he'd partaken of a beer or two, I would literally be able to hear the SS from several blocks away,tires squealing and engine roaring, before I'd be able to see it. The SS sounded really good and looked fantastic in those colors. Muscle cars being the order of the day,I thought the SS 396 would be the PERFECT car for me. I approached Rocky and asked if he would sell it. "Absolutely not!" was his reply I would ask him from time to time,but his answer was always a firm “no”.
I didn't give up-as the years passed I'd continue asking, and his standard answer to me was always “Jim,you don’t have enough money to buy this truck”. In late 1980, Rocky special ordered an ‘81 El Camino SS, in identical colors and similar options to the '68, and the '81 became his new “driver”. The '68 was gently retired, but kept in his building and driven from time to time. I still kept trying to buy the '68 SS, but to no avail.