Oil Filter Adapter

Brad55

Hello there,

I have a 1955 Buick Roadmaster with the 322 Nailhead.  Looking to see if anyone knows where to find the adapter kit to convert from the original canister style to newer spin on?  I've looked, and not really coming up with anything definitive.   Any help from someone that knows or puchased one would be great!!  Thanks - Brad 

On 2/15/2021 at 6:38 PM, Brad55 said:

Hello there,

I have a 1955 Buick Roadmaster with the 322 Nailhead.  Looking to see if anyone knows where to find the adapter kit to convert from the original canister style to newer spin on?  I've looked, and not really coming up with anything definitive.   Any help from someone that knows or puchased one would be great!!  Thanks - Brad 

20170421_180602.thumb.jpg.eab36330c6489ffa71aef9497652ce60.jpgHey Brad

This how a later year Buick bolted on my 55 Cent. Pm for more info if this looks like it will work. A straight down version also from different year also bolts on if addled memory serves, but this one seemed the least interfereing when installed. Appears too close in 2nd picture, but its just a short guy over a high fender creating a false perspective! Plenty roomy!20170420_191453_001.thumb.jpg.75a1dd9eaded73172550610d6e876287.jpg

• Like 1

You could probably plug the lines to the canister oil filter and just run without one. The old Buick I drive the most gets around 1,500 miles per year, the others less. The oil gets changed every year. I have been caught without a filter on hand a couple of times and changed the oil only.

Although the average collector car is not at much risk I do make it a policy to drive my cars 10 miles or so if I start one to fully warm the engine and drive train to drive out any possible moisture. That's even if I am moving it over one parking place in the driveway. My wife knows "you have to do that". Just ask her.

Bernie

• Like 1

On 2/16/2021 at 9:14 PM, 2carb40 said: