Rear End swap

Crisjr14

Hello I am new to the mopar world and was wondering if anyone could help me I am trying to find what newer year and model rearend will interchange with my '53 Dodge Meadowbrook and with drum brakes and also with the less modifying if there is such a thing that has to be done I would like to keep it I believe mine is the 5 x 4.5 pattern and also how do I identify my model as to the A,B,C, etc. Body is my meadowbrook please any help and info would be greatly appreciated thank you 

20201130_140713.jpg

20201130_140655.jpg

51 minutes ago, Crisjr14 said:

Hello I am new to the mopar world and was wondering if anyone could help me I am trying to find what newer year and model rearend will interchange with my '53 Dodge Meadowbrook and with drum brakes and also with the less modifying if there is such a thing that has to be done I would like to keep it I believe mine is the 5 x 4.5 pattern and also how do I identify my model as to the A,B,C, etc. Body is my meadowbrook please any help and info would be greatly appreciated thank you

For what reason? To achieve what purpose ?

Replace like for like?

Is there a problem with the existing diff?

I note the car is lowered and has non standard side exhaust.

https://forums.aaca.org/topic/357811-1953-dodge-meadowbrook/?tab=comments#comment-2169336

1939 Buick so here is my problem I tried to replace all the brakes on car problem I ran into was taking the rear drums off and totally messed them up bad so I was told since I cannot find any replacement drums for that car under $400 that it would probably be best to do a rearend swap and was also told the older ford ranger,explorer,early dakota jeep Cherokee Chrysler B body cars from the 70s etc. But I am looking to see if anyone out there can give me specific year with least modifications I have to make the better if this makes any sense

Is $400 each or $400 for a pair for drums?