55 Roadmaster Sedan on BaT

Smartin

Opinions, crituques?  I know we are all really good at picking these cars apart...go for it.  Because I really like this car....talk me out of it.

https://bringatrailer.com/listing/1955-buick-roadmaster-2/

• Like 5

25 minutes ago, Smartin said:

....talk me out of it.

That’s a good idea...I have posted things in Facebook Groups so that someone can tear it apart and turn me off on it. Or, maybe someone else just buy it so I don’t!

• Like 1

Yes.  The No Reserve auctions will state that in the title.

• Thanks 1

6 hours ago, Smartin said:

Opinions, crituques?  I know we are all really good at picking these cars apart...go for it.  Because I really like this car....talk me out of it.

I am not an expert on 55s, but I don't see much to not love!  Are you considering going for it?

It’s a reserve auction, so I probably won’t get to their asking price.  But it’s fun to dream, right?

• Like 2

It would take north of $50,000 to restore a car to that extent today--a cost that would be tough to recover on a 4-dr. sedan, so maybe the seller is going to take the fall. It's a beauty, that's for sure! The only thing I question is the white paint on the A/C unit in the trunk--Willie Pittman would know if that's correct or not. 

Kudos to the seller for correctly calling it a "body-off" restoration rather than the normally abused "frame-off". I have yet to see a "frame-off" restoration--seen lots of "body-off-frame" restorations--just a pet peeve.

Nice photo documentation of a wonderful car--seller certainly isn't hiding anything.

Now, talk me out of this one, Adam:  https://sandiego.craigslist.org/ssd/cto/d/chula-vista-1941-graham-paige-hollywood/7266635513.html

Not a Buick, but something I've always admired and wanted, have read extensively about, and this is the most affordable one I've seen in years.

Pete Phillips, BCA #7338

• Like 3