1923 Jewett Tourer - Fuel flow after running out

AussieRay

Hi

i’m new to this vintage car caper.  I have a 1923 Jewett 6 Cylinder (by Paige) - pictured

i ran out of fuel (not realising the last bit won’t pick up).  After refill there is plenty of fuel in the vacuum system but none is flowing through to the carby.   The hose between vac  system and carb is completely dry and yes I’ve opened the fuel valve at the base of the vac system.

I’m sure this is a basic fix ... I thought of priming the carb but could do with some do and don’t advice on that as well, if you think that’s the go.  Only ever primed a tractor before.

F04C4145-8F48-41E9-871D-799BDEDE55B9.jpeg

Edited by AussieRay (see edit history)

Most vacuum tanks have an inner tank that has a flapper valve at the bottom of the internal tank. Take the internal tank out and see if the valve is stuck shut.  This happened to me on a 1923 Durant.

• Like 1

@Oldtech the little glass bowl at the bottom was empty.  When I loosened the screw slightly at the bottom of that, fuel dropped into (and out of) that bowl.  It’s now full.  I haven’t checked the rest of the vacuum tank yet.  Sounds like I need to pull it apart - do you know if the idea is to take the top off that (which will involve removing the vacuum and fuel pipes I think)?

And thanks re: Car.  Just fell in love with it.  Former museum piece - very pristine but may need some road toughening.