Introduction and a Question about Spare Tire Cutouts on 1940 Model 41 Special

Victor W

I've been lurking on the forum for awhile and thank you for all the wisdom. I figured I should introduce myself, and I have a question about a new to me 1940 Special. I am new to pre-War cars, but am really enjoying the learning process. So first a quick story. I had been on the hunt for a project car for awhile. I was mainly looking at trucks from the 50's and early 60's. Over the past year I been casually on the hunt and had gone and looked at a lot of machines. The truck market has gone nuts with serious junk going for dumb money. I had come close on a couple but never pulled the trigger. 

So in the irony of life, as I am coming home from looking at a yet another car I passed on I see an old Plymouth parked in front of my neighbors with a for sale sign. I stop and look and it was a decent looking 41 but was missing all the trim and the motor was locked. Despite my better judgement I give him a call. He quickly talks me out of the Plymouth, too far gone for anything other than a body swap, but he's got something he wants me to come look at. I knew this guy had a few cars, but he'd never been interested in selling and I hadn't pestered him. 

So I go back to his barn and he take me to the back. There's a 1940 Special in black. We roll it out and I give it a once over. It's partially disassembled, but all the big stuff is there, and he quickly shows me everything else it needs is in various spots around the barn. The car is really solid. Surprisingly so for an upper-midwest machine. There's a little rust behind the fender mounts (all the fenders are off) but the floors, pillars, and body exterior are solid. The interior is worn, but complete. It's titled and he swore it ran well when parked.