WOOD SKELETON

BRUCE W H

Unless this is a non US body, your 24 should have an all steel body.  Only the top framework and top bows were wood.  Is there enough of the original wood left for patterns?  I know of no kit, but the top should be fairly simple to make.

I AM NEW TO WORKING ON SOMETHING THIS OLD. MY OTHER IS A 47 DODGE PICK UP.   I'VE HAD MANY CHRYSLER PRODUCTS.  THIS CAR IS A CANADIAN CAR AND IS VERY COMPLETE. I HOPE TO MAKE IT AN ORIGINAL SURVIVOR  NON RESTORED AS IT STILL HAS ORIGINAL PAINT. THE WOODWORK IS A BIT SCARY TO ME . I HOPED TO FIND PLANS AND HOW TO,S ABOUT FITTING THE SKELETON TO THE BODY.

THANKS

It is hard enough to find a set of plans for a Model T open car, I would think near impossible for a Dodge closed car. Your only option might be to take lots of photos and deconstruct the body, then depending of your skill set, make a copy of each piece. I would only replace what really needs to be replaced. As far as how to on replacing wood, look for You-tube videos; for example look for videos dealing with Ford Model A 4 doors, maybe Chevrolet sedans. There should be a number of them out there. While not the same, pretty much the same process.

On 9/21/2020 at 5:38 PM, dwollam said:

If he has a Fisher bodied Coupe it is all wood framed. Attention Nearchoclatetown !

Been away for a few days, Dave. It sounds like Bruce W H  may have a Fisher sedan which would make it the second one I know of. Can you post a picture of the car? A Fisher coupe, like mine is built like a Chevy but larger. A Fisher sedan is I don't know. But I know where the other ONE is and can hook you up. Pull the floor covering up at the right door opening. If a Fisher it will have a number carved in the floorboard with JOB NUMBER. BTW, take your cap lock off, it makes it too hard to read. 

Edited by nearchoclatetown (see edit history)
  • Like 2