Looking for a 1984 Corvette ECU

EmTee

I'm looking for a good used or remanufactured/rebuilt engine control unit (aka: "computer") for my father's 1984 Corvette.  It has the infamous Cross-Fire Injection and automatic transmission.  Any leads on a replacement or suggestions for what to look for on the one we have (i.e., are cracked solder joints or lifted traces typical) would be greatly appreciated.

8 hours ago, EmTee said:

Any leads on a replacement or suggestions for what to look for on the one we have (i.e., are cracked solder joints or lifted traces typical) would be greatly appreciated.

How sure are you the control unit is bad?

I was a driveability tech in that era, so here's a bit of unasked for advice. Apologies if you are already miles ahead of me.

Bad control units (we called them ECMs back in those days) were pretty rare. The verified bad ones I saw could probably be counted on one hand, excluding a couple specific makes/models that had known design problems. I did see a lot of cars come through my service bay where the ECM had been replaced, but the car was still broken. The remanufactured ECM business was booming in those days. Great work if you can get it. 99% of the ones turned in for cores probably had nothing wrong with them, and of course there are no returns on electrical parts.

I imagine it is more common to see bad ECMs now, after all it is 1980s electronics, there's likely a bunch of electrolytic capacitors in there that have been deteriorating for decades.

Nevertheless, "it's never the ECM" was an unwritten rule in my trade back in those days. Often factory service manuals had flowcharts that would lead you down the wrong path, especially if there were multiple problems.