Carlsbad Black Formula - Anyone have one or ideas?

Dan O

I am sure this black paint has been sprayed on many a member's car over the years.  Does anyone already have the source for the proper formula to replicate "correct" the factory Carlsbad Black?

I am no paint pro but I would suppose it's different for two-stage paint from single stage?  I know the gloss will be different.  I am looking to apply this to just my firewall and steering column right now.  The rest of the car will come later.  It appears to me those engine compartment areas are the same as the exterior paint from factory.

Hello, probably a jet black would approximate the original Carlsbad Black ,oddly enough black does vary between manufacturers due to type of carbon black and how it is processed . I would make sure you use the same brand on your restoration. Good luck on it .

• Thanks 1

3 hours ago, Matt Harwood said:

How about Vanta Black, the blackest man-made material ever created? Of course, parking it in the sun probably makes it smolder.

Ha - nice idea.  Expensive I am sure but nice.  I might go with BMW's lights behind the grill idea though!  I always wanted to light up the venta-ports like Ned Nickles did in 1948, so who knows.

Hello again,although my car is gray using the two step paint with clear on the interior pieces, dashboard,window moldings steering column, are also done in body color on a convertible as you know. I reduced the gloss to about 3/4 to replicate the unbuffed finish on these parts.

DF6A57F7-DA2F-4AB2-B7CF-B04F655548E5.jpeg

DD33EDD9-DFFF-4F05-AC29-3CA7731BC513.jpeg

• Like 2

Have you investigated wiht www.tcpglobal.com for your correct-color paint?  If you can get regular acrylic enamel, then add "hardener" to it, you'll not need to be BCCC.

On the genuine BCCC colors, the full color is not correct until the LAST clear coat layer is applied.  On a single-stage (acrylic enamel, even with hardener), what you spray is what ou get.