Let's not be our worst enemy

bclement

Men, Women, Folks,

I recently went back down the path of restoration of a '41 Continental convertible. Many of you have been a tremendous help. Parts are limited as is to be expected. I have Lincoln parts I know I won't need and would like to see get out of my way!!! I am a simple garage mechanic that grew up restoring cars with my father and grandfather in the 80's and 90's.........just for the joy of it and maybe going to a carshow. How did we let this get out of control. 'Rotisserie' restorations? Million dollar drunken auctions? This entire market rests on the shoulders of people who had the forethought to do something or put something away. The TV barnfind isn't neglect it's representative of somebody who had the where with all to keep something as safe as they could. As I've been looking for parts I've noticed that the hobby has changed. People who know, aren't the ones selling the parts. Its people who don't that are impossible to talk to! If this forum can't be a place where people who know can communicate..........then what's the point? If the point is an event concourse or million dollar auction? Let those folks remember that they are standing on the shoulders of the folks that came before them and saved these cars from the crusher. It wasn't an 'amateur restoration' then, it was the community parade.

That's my rant for today. It's too hot in Savannah to do anything else. Be safe.

Brad

• Like 1