1968 442 W30

alsancle

I've had my eyes on a W30 car for a long time.  This one happens to only be 10 minutes from my house.  I've asked the dealer if they have paperwork as I'm not buying a musclecar that doesn't have its buildsheet or invoice or both.

The thing I like about this car is that it feels "honest" but I'm not an Olds expert by any means.   I would like any feedback anyone here might have.

https://www.highoctaneclassics.com/used/Oldsmobile/1968-Oldsmobile-442-939f91510a0e08bc6055bda37f068873.htm

442 w30

History of this car back to the original owner
come with its original short block 400
the car retains its original w30 heads, intake manifold distributor
comes with its original matching number muncie, has its original factory 433 gear set, but currently running a 391 posi rear end
original 68 rims wheels
interior all original with exception of recovering front seats and carpet replacements
photo history of the car from the 70s and 80s
car retained original red inner fenders wells, red plastic, delivered in Alaska, sold through aurora Oldsmobile was with original owner until 1996
second owner from 96 to 2002, then sold to his friend and ended up in private collection

cf2a104ce58775cfd33757f7cde42665x.jpg

b6f262904bfa448f919fbe72263d53a4x.jpg

https://pictures.dealer.com/h/highoctaneclassics/0034/c5462acc961c988543e2f10188c25258x.jpg

618641b93dba746b1553a95027f98a9bx.jpg

11202ba4d63ea39e496bd81b45313cecx.jpg

A few things jump out.

Those are not original wheels, they are 1975-newer SSII wheels with snap-in centers. The optional original SSII wheels in 1968 were 14x6 with bolt-in centers and were painted argent, not body color. Also, the 1968 SSII wheels did not use the stainless bezels around the five holes, the edge of the hole was painted silver.

The 442 emblems on the fenders sure look to be angled down in the front (at least on the driver's side). Replacing a rusty fender isn't uncommon, but still.