Buick 1940 cruise speed high rpm

Robby120113

Hi all. 

since im quite new to these car and always have driven army truck and jeep i was doing research about the buick before buying it. I have read here somewhere on the forum and interweb that cruising at 50mph should be easy. Yesterday i did a longer distance same as today but if i do 50mph i feel the engine still has alot of over power when i push the pedal but at 50mph it sounds the engine is overrevving, temp stays ar 180 and oild pres at 30. Is there something to be done to lower the rpm or was the info i have read wrong?

thanks

car is a buick 1940 model 41 with original engine

33 minutes ago, Robby120113 said:

if i do 50mph i feel the engine still has alot of over power when i push the pedal

Not sure what you mean by this, "has a lot of over power" I have never heard that description before, not familiar with it.. Do you mean you think that it feels like it still has more power to go faster?

50 MPH was fast in 1940 and many old cars were still equiped with lower differntial gearing.  I think you should be happy at 50 MPH with enough

power to pass slower cars when needed.  I once rode in a 40 Buick at 70 MPH with 5 other guys in the 405 Freeway in LA, no problem, but I have no

idea what the rearend gearing was.  The owner was from LA had just completed a 4000 mile Great American Race, Boston to LA in a 35 Buick and

I'm sure the 40 Buick was geared for LA Freeway driving.