Embarrassing Question: Where the #^$%@ is the “Idle Air Bleed Channel Lead Ball”?

Professor

Good Morning,

I have a completely embarrassing question.  I have two Stromberg EXV-3 carburetors, one that came on my 1936 Chrysler Airstream C-8 (8 cylinder L-Head) and one that I ordered as a spare.  I also have a carburetor rebuild kit from Andy Bernbaum Auto Parts.  In the rebuild kit, there is a small round check ball called the “Idle Air Bleed Channel Lead Ball”.  

The carburetor parts list references this lead ball, but in taking apart both of my carburetors, there is no lead ball to be found.  Every carburetor I have ever rebuilt contains a check ball, but I will be darned if I can find it in either of the carburetors I have taken apart.  I have searched the web far and wide for a exploded view of my Stromberg carburetor, only to come up completely empty handed.

Recognizing that some carburetor rebuild kits are generic and may contain “additional” parts, I understand that it is possible that there is no check ball in this carburetor.  This said, there is no way I want to install my rebuilt carburetor back on the Chrysler and find out that there really IS a check ball somewhere in this carburetor, and I missed it.

Any guidance would be much appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Joe

Stromberg used lead balls as plugs to seal access passages in the castings.

If you do not need to remove the old plug for cleaning the passage, just ignore it.

And item 26 in the picture is a check valve, which is a brass threaded fitting with an encapsulated steel ball.

We include the passage balls in most of the Stromberg kits, because the balls cost us about 4 cents each, and postage, in the rare case someone actually needs one, is $12.

Simply cheaper to include them.

The vendor should have explained this to you when you contacted the vendor.

Jon.

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1