Sign in to follow this  
Bush Mechanic

Identify Robert Bosch components.

I'm attempting to resurrect a 1923 Metallurgique 12/15, which was totally disassembled about 60 years ago. I have been working my way through the big jigsaw puzzle for almost 2 years now, and feel that I'm making good headway. (There were two different worn out engines, each completely dismantled, and the parts mixed together in boxes. At least the boxes were stored out of the weather, unlike some of the car.).

I have two electrical components which were luckily left attached to the fire-wall, on the engine compartment side. Neither of them appear on the period Bosch wiring diagram, and I am at a loss as to their functions. I'm hoping that someone here is familiar with these, and can kindly solve the mystery. It is a 12 volt, negative earth system.

The first is about 80 mm diameter, and was located close above the starter motor. 

IMG_5372.thumb.JPG.ec6e69df89836aaccc64d5b1265d1358.JPGIMG_5371.thumb.JPG.0bf2da771707aad9b5784e7b114485ec.JPG

Number 37 appears on the wiring diagram, on the starter, being the terminal leading to the magneto for the 'Power Boost' function when starting. I suspect that number 2 could be the extra power terminal on the ZF4 magneto, but it is not visible on the much-copied old diagram. The unit could possibly be an early ballast resistor in that line? Any ideas, Gentlemen?

The other item is around 46 mm diameter, and was fitted in the vicinity of the steering column.  

IMG_5373.thumb.JPG.0c96a39c85762b5dda7ef05475e7763e.JPG

It has three wire attachment points. My best guess is a horn relay, or something of that nature. (A horn was listed, but not shown on the wiring diagram). Does it look familiar to anyone, please?