Electrical question

RandallMac

Hello all,

I recently purchased a 1966 Skylark, so I am new to the breed. Historically I’ve been a Mopar guy so there’s a lot to the GM world I’m learning. 

my question is.... when I turn on the headlights the R rear tail light goes out and the blinker indicator in the car stays on solid (doesn’t blink). Additionally, and I believe they’re related, I think there’s a parasitic drain. Again, I’m guessing caused by the same culprit. Does anyone have any ideas as to where I should begin to look for the problem? Since everything works fine when the headlights are off, I don’t believe it’s an issue with the ground. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. 

Randy 

The signal circuit is the same as Mopar. Look for a bulb with a sagging filament that is touching another filament. Check all 4 corners. Make sure all brake/signal/tail/park lights have a good ground. Good luck. Let us know what you find out.

Edited by Bloo (see edit history)
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

3 hours ago, RandallMac said:

Hello all,

I recently purchased a 1966 Skylark, so I am new to the breed. Historically I’ve been a Mopar guy so there’s a lot to the GM world I’m learning. 

my question is.... when I turn on the headlights the R rear tail light goes out and the blinker indicator in the car stays on solid (doesn’t blink). Additionally, and I believe they’re related, I think there’s a parasitic drain. Again, I’m guessing caused by the same culprit. Does anyone have any ideas as to where I should begin to look for the problem? Since everything works fine when the headlights are off, I don’t believe it’s an issue with the ground. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. 

Randy