Wire wheels for late 1929 Packard 626

31Buick96S

I am considering the purchase of a 1929 Packard 626 Coupe. A friend suggested that the wheels on the car are incorrect and likely 19". As the photos show, the car was delivered on 7/3/229. The dismounted spare wheel/tire seems to show an 8 lug pattern that would be cover the lug bolts by a hub cap. The 4 wheels mounted on the car are identical and have the pictured hub cap . The tire size on all 5 wheels are 6.00 -20 as shown in the close up of one tire.

1. Can anyone tell me if these type wheels available on this car originally?
  2. Are they 19" or 20"?
  3. Does anyone recognize the manufacturer of the wheel?
  4. The tire size confuses me if they are 19", is this even possible?

Thanks for any insight anyone can provide.

IMG_1006.jpg

IMG_7899.JPG

IMG_9658.JPG

IMG_0033.JPG

I'm no Packard expert, but I know those are not original 1929 626 wheels.  1931 was the first year for the enclosed lug nuts/bolts hub.  Your wheels being 20" are most likely from '31.  From various histories of the Packard car company.  I learned that Packard would encourage owners of earlier model Packard's.  To up grade their cars with the latest versions of wheels, lights, etc.  To make their cars more "modern".  Do some research and I'm sure you will find some pics of a 626 with its proper wheels.   Good luck, a Packard has always been my dream car!

Not the correct wheels.

• You need 20", 8 stud rims with the lugs outside the wheel hub.
  • 1929 and 1930 Packard wire wheels use longer wheel nuts than the steel disc wheels.
  • In 1930, the standard 8 cars used different wire wheels - 20" 7 lug.
  • In 1930,  the Big 8's used 8 lug but 19".
  • I'll get a photo of my wires later and post. They are hard to find and can be expensive.

By the way, I did see a 626 coupe photo somewhere recently and I think it had the wrong wheels and maybe something else was wrong also - cannot recall without revisiting that photo.

• Like 1