Nova Scotia man drives same Model T for 71 years

Rusty_OToole

I have seen that story before. Can you imagine someone working for 500 hours to buy a 20+ year old car. Looks like a tall tale to me.

Maybe 10 cents per hour at the garage, but farming 40 acres of wheat or selling a couple of beef cattle on the side.

"Looks like a tall tale to me". C'mon 60FT, there always seems to be one sceptic in the crowd! I've met Randal Pittman, and know of him and his history with this great old truck. In fact he spoke at one of our old car club meetings a while back. Very humble unassuming guy, a true testament to those who love old trucks/cars. 

As far as wages, some people soon forget how times have changed. In the early 60's during University days, I worked as a summer student at the local steel plant in their casual labour pool, used to spell off full time workers during vacations. We got paid $0.60 per hour (cleared about $19 per week) and that was one of the best paying jobs around, most labor jobs at that time only paid $0.40 an hour, and field workers got less. So Mr. Pittman as a teenager just after WWII was likely right on the money when he says $0.10 per hour.  Ask your grandfather! 

As a teenager in the late 60s I worked several summer jobs for 75 cents or  90 cents an hour. I also bought used cars for $35. Don't know if the Model T story is true but would think, for $47.50 in 1949 you would get quite a nice T. It was just a 25 year old used car at the time, car collecting hardly existed.

My first "real" job, as soon as I could get working papers at age 15, was working in a boat yard in 1966 and making $1.25 an hour, which was minimum wage then.