Isolated shaking of the steering wheel - '32 Buick Model 86

I took our '32 Model 86 Victoria out tonight. Strangest thing happened; never experienced this before (of course, this '32 is the first classic car we've ever owned) so I'm hoping to find some answers here. I was traveling around 35-40 mph and hit a small pothole in the road.  The steering began shaking left and right.  I hesitate to use the word "severe" but it wasn't just a little shimmy.  I put some pressure on the wheel trying to stabilize it but found that applying the brake was ultimately what stopped it. I hit a few other bumps and potholes coming back home and it didn't happen again.  Wasn't sure if this normal every once in a while or if it represented a bigger problem (tie rod end, etc).  Any help would be appreciated.  If you have questions to help isolate the issue, let me know and I'll do my best to answer them.  As this is our first classic Pre-War car, I'm still learning.

Check and correct front end.  All tie rod ends, all other connections.  Check caster, camber and toe in.  Check wheel bearings for proper tightness.  Check if front wheels are straight.  Check for broken leaves in springs and all shackles..

In other words do a complete front end alignment.  There is no point in fiddling around with alignment do it right and do it once.  

After I aligned my Pontiac it would go down the highway at 30, 40, 50, and 60 perfectly straight with hands off the wheel.  No problem with diagonal railway tracks and could parallel park using two fingers as long as the car was creeping ahead or back.

• Like 2

While all of the above is important and should be done for good operation, since you have not done anything since previous driving, I would suspect wear in the steering box.  If you have excess play in the steering wheel, you should try to adjust per the manual.  

Braking is the best way in an emergency to stop the wobble if it occurs.  

Bob Engle

• Like 1