1923 Moon Restoration Progress

ryan95

This is my first time posting the progress I have made on the car that I am working on. It is not my car, but belongs to a friend in my neighborhood who recently retired and has been looking for someone willing to restore his car, which he purchased intending to restore it. I am 24 years old and this is my first car restoration. I had not had much experience in woodworking either until last year. I have always appreciated old machines though, so when I first saw this car in 2018 I caught the "old car bug." From late 2018 until last fall I spent about a year researching and planning the project. The pictures below are some before and after pictures from Thanksgiving until now along with some pictures in the wood shop. Almost all of the original wooden parts were rotten, cracked, and or twisted, so I spent the winter remaking as much as I could. About 2/3 of the wooden parts are done and assembled. I am a small engine mechanic, so this has been a good way to keep me busy in my slow season. Now more customers are beginning to call with repair jobs, so I am putting less hours into the car, but I hope to keep putting in a few hours per week. Our goal is to get the car on the road again in 2023 for its hundredth birthday. Please let me know if you would like to see anything else or have questions of how I did something. I'm posting this since I figure that some of you would appreciate seeing a youngster restoring a prewar car!

Ryan

KIMG0252.thumb.JPG.9d510362b5a500091cf4acb4b78439d3.JPG

KIMG0251.thumb.JPG.f8ed517b71ce2c8dc150a721c1243ba1.JPG

KIMG0253.thumb.JPG.0843497c08ad1a858727cdbe44ebe500.JPG

KIMG0329.thumb.JPG.782d554aa1f4814ceff0384008669168.JPG

KIMG0397.thumb.JPG.fd3eb3a5c0bdea1f46705310d7e477f5.JPG

KIMG0379.thumb.JPG.3387eea7613151d24ae83a03313f3e6d.JPG

KIMG0401.thumb.JPG.6b6a62b7c3941bbccdf09c8dca1bf127.JPG

KIMG0308.thumb.JPG.4291644f1ccec085ca45838a8a397609.JPG