New To This Forum

Eddie-O

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this forum and first time user. I had posted this on general, but was informed to go to Buick section so here I am.

I recently purchased a 41 Buick Sedanette and am still waiting for the shipper to drop it off , or deliver it is a better word. I feel in love with the car the day I saw it and will post some pics in the near future. I was a Chevrolet mechanic for twenty five years and since I've retired this car will definatly keep me from wearing out rocking chairs. Your going to think I'm an idiot, but I have some questions on the fluids in this car. I have the 41 shop manual, but my problem is what fluids to use in it..The manual uses all the long discontinued GM or Buick part #'s or their product names like, Super Dupper or Quick Slick or other retail brand names but no SAE weight #'s. Could someone tell me what the current fluid weights are for:

Rear Axle- Is it still 90 weight gear oil?

3 Speed Trans. Fluid

Brake Fluid DOT #

I plan on using straight 20 weight in the straight eight dual carb engine. She'll be driven only during summer months.

I know these are novice questions and I am a novice on a car this old so please don't laugh to hard. There's not much I can't handle with the car and I have a fully equipped shop,lift,compressors,presses,etc. , so I'm not helpless. But I want to get this right even if I have to be humbled by asking. I'm sure as time passes I'll have other questions, but right now this is the most important.

Thank's in advance to anyone who stops laughing long enough to respond. I'll be monitoring this forum for all your knowledge and help most likely on a regular basis now that I have my 41.

All the best 

Ed

Welcome Ed.  I don't have a 41 but others will likely chime in soon.