Need some help identifying this old International truck bed trailer

Hello All,

I’m in the process of getting this old International truck bed trailer working again.  I plan to use it to haul firewoood. I live outside of Helena, Montana so the rust on it isn’t too bad considering it’s been sitting outside for more than 20 years. I’m only a middling mechanic and I’ve got zero knowledge about old Internationals.  Can anyone out there help me identify which year and model the bed comes from?  Just from looking at google images, I think it might be one of the smaller L-series trucks.  The bed is 6” long by about 4 1/2” wide.

Also, what service would you do on the axle?  As far as my research goes, I think it’s a full-float axle.  What tools do I need to pull the axle shaft and clean the bearings?  Also, what’s the best gear oil to use back there?

And I’ve got one more question, in the process of removing the rusty lug nuts, I broke a stud clean off — any tips on fixing that?  

I know that’s a ton of questions from an ignorant mechanic!  Thanks so so much for your time!

—Marty

37F4189A-4D8D-41CC-A35D-CB57CFD24DF4.jpeg

84B3CF34-DA9E-486C-B8F3-297F1B701FE7.jpeg

88102912-BA04-4305-B9B8-4D2F7A55F68E.jpeg

That box would not look out of place on an L or R series International. I am fairly sure that is not the International axle. For one thing, it is in upside down. My gut reaction is it might be an 8 inch Ford.

The stud replacement depends on how it is attached. The drum should slide off. If the stud is just pressed in, you can probably knock it out of there and pull a new one in with a lug nut and a stack of washers. If it is swaged or something like that it might need to be drilled and machined. Pressed in is more likely, but you should figure out what it is and how its made before banging on it too much.