opinions on the California duster

Hemi Joel

Hi, I have been using a California duster for many years. I always make sure that there is a good coat of wax or glaze on the car, so I didn't think it was doing any damage to the paint, but I'm not as observant as some people either. The reason for starting this topic and seeking opinions, is that I was at a show last year and started dusting off the car. A guy came up to me almost in a panic, he was adamant that the California duster would damage the paint. He had some supporting information from an expert or an article or something like that. I thanked him for the concern but I told him I had been using a California duster for a long time and didn't notice any damage. He was not too happy that I didn't heed his advice.What do all of you people think of this practice of dusting the car?

Dusting?  I drive a 90 year old Barn-Find.  Whats 'dusting'?  

Seriously though, I did use a similar duster a long time ago on my 1940 Cad with a super nice paint job.  It sometimes left 'something' on the paint, like a streak of some sort.  I stopped using it because I wasn't sure where this was headed.  I sold the car, so I cant testify as to the lasting affects.

I still use one I don’t see any problem.  I guess it could trap dirt if it falls on the ground but I’ve always been careful to avoid that.  The quick detail spray and a soft cotton cloth cut from an old bedsheet works pretty good for me, but some know it all might be disappointed that I don’t have the expensive “micro fibre” cloth.  You can’t please everyone.