Lead Additives / Alternates

I've got very good access to top tier non-ethanol higher octane fuels here in Vancouver. Chevron has a 94 octane non-ethanol and Shell carries a 91 octane, so I make sure to use those in both the 67 Electra and 78 Estate Wagon.  The Electra seems to prefer the 94 octane stuff.  As far as additives go, I don't bother with any lead additives for the 67, but I will put a few ounces of Marvel's Mystery Oil into a tank every once in a while. and I make sure to use an oil with higher zinc levels.    I have read that buick motors in this era have a higher nickel content in the heads so the lead is not required.   I've been running the 67 this way for about 18 years now and it's very happy.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

You should not need lead additives. There are octane boosters that you can use if high-octane pump gas isn't enough for a very high compression engine, but if your car runs without pinging on pump gas, don't waste your money on other things you dump into the tank. Lead isn't and never was added to fuel to "cushion" the valves. It was an octane booster. That nonsense about cushioning the valves was largely made up by the oil companies when leaded fuel was being phased out in the early '70s. Originally they were supposed to eliminate it in 2 or 3 years, but the oil companies started whining about all the poor schmoes whose engines would self-destruct without the cushioning effects of the lead. That was BS, but it was enough to buy them another 5 or 6 years for the changeover.

For the most part, additives are designed for one purpose: turn your money into their money. If the engine doesn't ping on pump gas, additives are not needed.

• Like 4