Sparking issues - 1946 Continental V12

Uriel

Hi Everyone,

This website is a great resource and let me start by thanking everyone who is maintaining the community for those beautiful (and finicky) machines!

I apologies in advance if I don't use the right vocabulary, I'm new to classic cars, and I'm also not a native English speaker, so I'll be as descriptive as I can.

I recently bought a 1946 Continental with its original 292 V12 , rebuilt some years ago but hardly driven (the past owner, I was told, passed away shortly after. the rebuild..). It was running really weak and could hardly move. We started troubleshooting with a friend who used to be a mechanic back in the 70s and 80s, and although we ruled out compression issues (it is within specs in all 12 cylinders), we noted that it only sparked "good" in 6 of the cylinders. The odd things is that it's got an issue on both sides:

- On the passenger side, only cylinder 10 sparks worth something (4th from front), some cylinders have a very weak spark, some none apparently; and

- On the driver side, Cylinder 11(6th from front) does not, while the 5 others spark just fine.

The car could run, but it dies out pretty quickly, which we initially blamed on a fuel leak off the carburetor that may (or may not) cause the engine to stall. My friend is dubious about blaming the carburetor for old cars' problems; in his experience, compression and spark should be investigated and fixed  first.

The plan is now to take the distributors off and take a closer look. Thank you Pete O. for the distributor exploded view, and CrazyCars for your step by technique to remove the distributor. Those will sure prove useful.