Created overheating issue, need suggestions

stvaughn

1932 REO. I’ve been driving this car in hot weather (90 +) for two years with no problems. However I had a some water seepage in a crack in the head and a head gasket leak so I decided to “fix” it with some super duper stop leak. K&W Fiberlock. 
CCA1CA77-DC1F-4D7B-821D-2F780686C0F6.thumb.jpeg.c8c97c3b36f9e6ff7c795adba3086929.jpeg

Well, it sealed the leaks just fine but now I’m overheating. In the process of trying to find out what went wrong I noticed the lower radiator hose would collapse when I reved up the engine. I’ve never had that problem before so I’m guessing this stuff has clogged up the radiator. I’ve tried back flushing, filling and driving and draining and repeating several times. I put a stiff coil of wire in the lower hose and when I rev up the engine I can see the hose trying to pull in. I’ve thought about trying a mixture of water and alcohol to see if that might dissolve the stoppage. Any suggestions before I bite the bullet and pull the radiator?

Steve

12 hours ago, Ben Bruce aka First Born said:

Bite the bullet

Wisdom valued way beyond money..............years of experience dictate the fastest, easiest, and best way to fix it. Do it right the first time........and, by the way, I know it sucks........fix the crack correctly........have it stitched. The easy crack fix takes a driver with an issue into a piece of garage art. Usually not the owners fault, as most have no idea on how to correctly proceed. Now yo have a car with a cracked block, a plugged radiator, and probably other issues to deal with along the way. Take your time, do it right, and it will work out fine.

Edited by edinmass (see edit history)
  • Like 1