Window weatherstrips...impossible!

TampaRiv

Hello lads, greetings  from balmy Tampa,

I ordered an 8-piece set of window weatherstrips for my '63 Riv  from our friends in NJ, about 92 bucks.  They look OK, but came with no usable instructions.   But I've done them on my '65 Skylark, so I thought it would be relatively easy and possibly enjoyable.  NOT!

I started with the front RH outer piece, which, is NOT a piece of rubber that would seal against the glass and keep rain out.  No, it's a fuzzy strip, more like what you'd expect to be on the inside of the glass.  Long story short, only 2 of the 3 holes lined up, and only the aft-most screw was possible to attach....the glass was in the way, and it was impossible to insert the supplied screws and drive them with a screwdriver.    AND, it was a bitch to get the old piece of weatherstrip out, as it was stapled to the trim piece.  Maddening.

Next,  I studied the inner front piece (which has rubber weatherstrip, ironically),  and concluded that the only way to  replace this piece was to have the inner door card (panel) removed.  I  think that removing the inner door cars requires removing the outer door skin....am I right?  Plus, the weatherstrip piece is riveted to the door card bolster,  and tucks in under the vent window assembly, so man-o-man,  it just seems impossible short of a full-on dismantling of the doors.

The rear windows seem easier, as the glass gets out of the way.   My question:  suppose you disassemble the doors completely, fit the new weatherstripping, put it all back together, and damn!  the windows aren't lined up correctly to as to make exact contact with the weatherstripping??   Then you are again disassembling the  outer door panel, messing with the window tracks to achieve proper alignment, and re-assembling again to check your work.   It's insane. 

My conclusions are as follows:

*Buick's weatherstripping engineering from the era was not too good.