1955 vs 1956 4 bbl intake manifold

Bill Newland

I have a 1955 Buick Roadmaster that I recently acquired with a 1956 322 engine in it.  The 56 engine has the 1955 intake manifold and 1955 Rochester carburetor.  I have heard that this is incompatible in some way.  Can someone shed some light on this?  The engine is running ok, except for very poor gas mileage and running rich. 

17 hours ago, Bill Newland said:

I have a 1955 Buick Roadmaster that I recently acquired with a 1956 322 engine in it.  The 56 engine has the 1955 intake manifold and 1955 Rochester carburetor.  I have heard that this is incompatible in some way.  Can someone shed some light on this?  The engine is running ok, except for very poor gas mileage and running rich. 

Carburetors get blamed for a lot, some of which they actually cause.

Yes, a carburetor flowing too much fuel CAN cause the engine to run rich (about a 4 percent probability). A defective ignition system can also cause an engine to run rich (about a 93 percent probability). Underinflated tires, dragging brakes, your golf clubs in the trunk ;)  among other items can cause poor fuel economy.

Jon.

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

I certainly agree that "95% of carburetor problems are electrical" (to quote an old saying), however I don't detect any misfiring of the engine.  Still a possibility I guess.  I do see a hint of black smoke coming from the tailpipe after the engine is warm, choke is wide open, and exhaust by-pass valve is open.  This car has an electric fuel pump (with no pressure regulator) with the mechanical pump bypassed.  The thought occurred to me that the electric pump may be supplying to much fuel pressure and overwhelming the float valve system in the carburetor. My next thing to do is to put a pressure gauge on the fuel line and see if the pressure is within the 4 - 5 psi spec.