Replacing thermo circuit breaker w/ fuse, '51 Super

Kestrel

I just read in the December Bugle that a member replaced the old stock thermo circuit breaker in the lighting switch with a modern 30 amp fuse in his '37 Buick for safety reasons.

I want to do the same for my '51 Buick Super. Could anyone advise what terminals to connect the leads of such an in-line fuse ?  Or perhaps simply splice the in-line fuse into the hot wire before it attaches to the #1 terminal. Here's a photo of mine showing what I believe is accurately marked. Thank you !!

bottom right  says "#1 terminal, hot from battery"

IMG_0957.jpeg.6cf4f6f21405f02a6837a9e9f739e909.jpeg

Right! Less safe when  you consider what having NO HEADLAMPS at night does to the car/driver control issue.😲

I was going to write a "sternly worded letter" to the editor about this. 

And especially since 30 amp automatic reset circuit breakers are available to do this job!

Here is just one example, posted as example, I have no knowledge of this vendor.

https://www.delcity.net/store/12V-Auto-Reset-Circuit-Breakers/p_198669.h_198847.r_IF1003?mkwid=s&crid=38094426869&mp_kw=&mp_mt=&gclid=EAIaIQobChMImKvDqY2p5gIVGIeGCh2ITwKWEAQYBCABEgITcPD_BwE

There is a GOOD reason vehicle manufacturers went to circuit breakers in headlamp circuits way back when, keeping fuses in the rest of the lighting circuits to this day. Do NOT be the guy who finds out why it was a good idea  at night  on a winding road......😉

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Hoping an  original 70 year old breaker to function as designed was my reason to replace it, not to mention my car has original head and tail light wiring running to both ends of the car. Everything works but it's not been thoroughly inspected.