Learned something about GMC from eBay

JamesR

They actually made a large displacement V6 engine in the mid 60's. I did not know that, though I admit I have little GMC knowledge. And no experience. At first I thought the V6 in this truck was after market, then I saw the emblem on the side. "Very cool!" I said.

If I'd seen the motor without knowing it was a V6, I might've thought it was a 348 or 409 at first glace. It kind of has that look. Was this V6 used in any other GM vehicles? How long was it used in the trucks?

1966 GMC C20 | eBay

s-l500.jpg

Edited by JamesR (see edit history)

yes it was the basis for the V12 and was used quite a bit into the 1970's as well. if you want to change the spark plugs, make sure you clean any debris from around them first, if not it could easily fall into the hole after you remove the old plugs

if memory serves me correctly, they were 301 and 351 cubic inch for the six

Edited by cheezestaak2000 (see edit history)
  • Like 3

That would be the 702 cubic inch GMC engine based on two of the V-6 blocks connected together at birth!😲

https://www.hotrod.com/articles/ccrp-1212-702-ci-thunder-v12-gmc-engines-horsepower/

I have seen one in person, stuffed into an Oliver tractor at the Field Days of the Past in Oilville, VA. What a sight!👍

AFAIK, the V-6 was only found in GMC trucks, pick ups and larger. The V-12 was originally for over the road tractors just before diesel got big.

GMC did make a V6 and a V12, designed at the same time and part of one family of engines. They must have been about the last all new  gasoline engines designed for heavy trucks before diesels took over. Their other claim to fame was the worst gas mileage of any pickup truck of equal horsepower.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, zepher said:

I was not aware of this engine from GMC, either.

Was it produced to compete with the 300 ci Ford inline 6?