Packard carburetors

carbking

From about 1905 through 1932, with the exception of a 4 month flirtation with Johnson, Packard used Detroit Lubricator carburetors on their passenger engines. However, Packard marine engines, beginning in about 1919 through ??? (my records show 1948) used Zenith carburetors. Also, while it is quite difficult to compare the Detroit Lubricator (air valve design) air flow to the Zenith (plain tube design); it appears that the Zenith would flow more air.

Anyone have any information as to why the two different carburetor companies were used, instead of using only one company?

Jon.

I have no knowledge of this but the first thing that pops into my mind is that marine engines are always used at sea level or at some constant level on a lake, so altitude compensation doesn't come into it. Another is that they are running at high power and open throttle most of the time without the constant variation in speed necessary for cars. Then again maybe Zenith made better marine carbs.

• Like 1

Rusty - interesting thought on the altitude. Carburetors require calibration changes with large altitude changes (how large depends on the design of the carbuetor). As to the speed (RPM) variation required for passenger vehicles), the early ('teens and 'twenties) Packard marine engines used Zenith type L carbs. The type L carbs were used on dozens of trucks, and several passenger vehicles.

One thought I had was some of the Detroit Lubricators used by Packard had the "glow plug" fuelizer.

At this point in time, really doesn't matter, except for my understanding.

Both are excellent carburetors when professionally rebuilt, although I prefer the Zenith as it does not have the air valve used by the pre-1929 Detroit Lubricators.

Jon.

Was there such a thing as U.S. Coast Guard  approval for marine carbs that far back ? Perhaps Zenith felt the marine market was important enough to comply with the marine requirements and gain certification and Detroit Lubricator