i want to join the restoration world

AJ Mustang Lover

I am 21 years old and i currently go to Lincoln Tech NADC in Nashville Tennessee for Auto Collision Repair. It would be nice to get a regular collision repair job , but i am obsessed with classic cars.  i would rather work on them for a living.  i want to own them. the only problem is Im trying to figure out where can i get training for it or a place to get my feet wet. i have no wife or kids so im really looking for relocation

Edited by AJ Mustang Lover (see edit history)
  • Like 3

McPherson College in Kansas has an Automotive Restoration curriculum.... https://www.mcpherson.edu/

The other option is to find a restoration shop that will either let you start sweeping floors, or will offer you an apprenticeship....on the job training.  That's how I got really good at trim work, I was self taught for a number of years, then spent two years at White Post Restorations working with a Master Trimmer (Sig Nurstheimer, my spelling may be wrong).  If you do apprentice, you need to be humble.  It took two months for Sig to warm up to me and realize I was eager to learn and wouldn't let my ego get in the way, and that I'd really listen to his methodologies and do my best to emulate his style.  Wow, too many big words, not sure I used them all correctly.

Good luck, the restoration business is an interesting one....

• Like 7

The shops I know would be happy to get an intern that is motivated, shows up on time and can be trusted not to drop a fender on the ground.    If you really want to be in the restoration space there is a real need for younger workers.   If you are smart enough you will be busy the rest of your life.

• Like 4

23 hours ago, trimacar said:

I hung out my shingle, casually, to do upholstery when I retired from my "real" career.  I've found out that, if people like your work, you're busy "for the rest of your life" and then some!