Headlights do not work/removing light switch

Hello everyone.  I juts bought my 1st Buick ever, a 57 Special. So I am learning and doing the best i can.  I am having trouble getting the headlights to work.  Every other light works except the headlights.  I have read the owners manual and it pretty much says to remove/test the light switch. I would test it while it is still installed but I cannot reach behind the dash to get to it.  

Anything information helps and sorry if I am leaving anything out.  My mechanical skills only go so far and this is my first project car.  The oldest car I have ever owned is my 98 Pontiac. 

Should be spring loaded pin on the flat metal side of the switch, push the pin in and hold while pulling on the knob and pull it completely off.  Then there is a large nut holding the switch to the dash (now revealed by the knob being out of the way.  Use a really wide screw driver or other tool to turn it out.  Once removed, the only thing holding the switch in are the wires.

I would check the wires where they are screwed into the junction strip for corrosion on the connectors as well as the connectors on the switch while I was in there.

Mark

M1824,

I cannot even reach the spring loaded pin.  That is my problem.  From laying on the floorboard I cann ot reach the light switch.  My next time would be is to take off the panel were the EM brake light is.  

I would begin with checking if power is reaching the lights as Beemon asked.  Could be both bulbs burned out. Unlikely, one will not know until tested. THEN follow follow back towards the headlight switch.   Dollar toi a donut, ou will find power TO the dimmer switch, non FROM same.   The dimmer switch is located just about above where your left foot sits when driving. Might even try switching [ pushing with your foot ] first.  Turn the head lights on , step on the dimmer.

Ben 

• Like 2
32 minutes ago, Ben Bruce aka First Born said: