Matt Harwood

Should I replace my body mount bushings?

I'm making my winter To Do list for the Limited and was thinking about the rubber body mount bushings. My car rides pretty well, but big bumps still really upset the car and crash through the structure. My '41 Cadillac 60S didn't feel like that and I have a '41 Roadmaster convertible sedan that actually feels better too--just a quiet THUMPTHUMP, not a KABANG! It's a giant limousine, it should really have better isolation, right? The shocks are all rebuilt, I have the tires aired down to about 30 PSI to help with the impact harshness, but I still cringe when I'm approaching big bumps. I was under the car recently and saw that all the body mount bushings were pretty well shot--the body has never been off the frame. They're crushed down and brittle.

So do you think putting new ones in would make any difference in the way it crashes over big bumps? They're readily available and I can probably remove the bolts, raise the body slightly, and slide new ones in there without too much difficulty.

Worth it or not? What say you?

Benefits of AACA Membership.

Matt,

Depends on how many bushings there are and how hard to get to.

Seems like a big job if that is all you are doing.

But if they are available, why not.

At least you will sleep better knowing you did it.

Got pictures of what they look like now ?

Another thing to check is the 4 rubber bumpers in the suspension.

My fronts were missing when I got the Buick, and the "A" arms were bottoming out on the frame.

Made your KABANG sound...............

Mike in Colorado

Edited by FLYER15015 (see edit history)
  • Like 1

Matt,