1928 Packard Watson Stabilator

32Pontiac6

Does anybody have any experience with rebuilding Watson Stabilators for a 526 Packard?  Either somebody who does repair of the shocks or is a source of parts.  I have not looked inside to see the condition of the mechanical components but there are two straps broken so I know those need to be replaced.  Does anybody have a source for the shock webbing?  I do have the Packard Service Manual and the shocks don't look that complicated.  I also have the adjusting wrench.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you for the information.  I will have to investigate.  Plan to pull one of the ones with broken webbing and possibly take apart and see if webbing is the only thing needed. 

Can you help me with your car designation?  I am still learning the Packard nomenclature.  Don't know what DB Senior is.  My understanding of cars they call '28 are Series 526 and 533 (Single Six) and 443's in Standard and Custom 8.  Which is yours?

Thanks again.

I have a 1928 Dodge Brothers Senior Six 4 door sedan. It has a 6 cylinder flat head engine (L head) It has 4 of those Watson thing . They are not interchangeable from side to side.  About 2 years ago I was shopping for new webbing. I got the last piece from Restoration Supplies in California. No one was making new ones at that time but I think some body is reproducing them now. I think a lot of high end cars used them during that period.. Before you take it apart punch mark the cover in relation to the frame. The screws that hold the cover are not evenly distributed. If you need more information on repairing it I will try and help you. There is a clamp to hold the end of the belt to the shaft on the frame. DO NOT LOOSE THAT. It is difficult to find replacement.