Split Rim and Tool

Sir Dragon

Hello all,

I've done some looking around and my research still leaves me a bit unsure. I'm still very new to this, as I've taken up the torch on refurbishing my fathers 1926 Chevy "Huckster" truck.

I have what appear to be a Jaxon type split rim with rotating/locking tab. They measure 20" across the ID.

Though, particular features on my rims are slightly different from the ones I've seen and read about on this forum and elsewhere.

More importantly, I'm looking for the correct tool for compressing the rim. I assume an Atlas might do the trick, but the rim appears to have holes that might be for a differently configured tool.

There are hole in the rim on opposing sides as if to accept a tool that would lever the rim to a compressed position (I speculate).

If I can't get my hands on a tool, then direction to a shop that can change these tires in the NJ area would be the next best thing.

Tires that coming off are beyond dry-rotten (round on the top and permanently flat on the bottom). Though surprisingly, they took and held enough air to roll the hulk in and out of the garage a short time ago.

These "original" tires are marked 30x5 (Dunlop and Atlas), and I have 600-20 replacements at the ready once the rims are freed to be cleaned and painted.

I can spin the tab and get the split separated with generic prying, but can't get beyond that without a tool, and I don't want to rig something that winds up being shaky and takes a finger.

The correct tool to use, a safe alternative method, or a reputable shop would be most helpful.

Thanks,

James

225.thumb.JPG.ef9ceca909a69e015da306302f3629c3.JPG

226.thumb.JPG.b3725cbac92cee6b16ba0a22a351d101.JPG

227.thumb.JPG.7f6528fcb10b69a67b43a63b4112ac5e.JPG

There may be a tool to use the two holes in the rim, but the tool I use is a split rim tool.

Go to EBay, enter "vintage split rim tool", you will see several for sale. (None are mine)