1915 touring project begins

SummitA

Hi everyone

i'm new to early Buick's. just acquired this modified back in the day 1915 touring C25 i believe.  Though not a candidate for restoration I plan on getting it running and keeping it as close to as is as possible. I am beginning mechanical work with the brakes. I am trying to remove the shoes for relining and having a problem with the knurled knob  in the left of the picture. Is there a trick to removing it to get the shoes off or might it just be frozen and need careful persuasion?  Also discovered a nasty surprise on the axle as pictured. Is there a source for replacement axles or is it a machine shop issue? ls any one know a source of useful repair and parts manuals?

I'm sure i will be posting  around a million more questions so thanks In advance.

14 buick find.JPG

1915 brskes.jpg

1915axel.jpg

That is a nasty crack.  I have this note as I spent a lot of time trying to locate a rear axle for my car.    Langills was recommended by the horseless carriage club.  
-For replacement axles (around $500 ea) - Use
-Langills General Machine Inc, Sacramento CA.  www.langills.com 
-The material is 4340 quenched and tempered stress relieved.  Ends are heat treated to 28-32 RC. 
The photo below is of the axles in 1925.  Same poor steel.     Hugh

1788845481_axlecrack1.thumb.jpg.1b71f726a531cdfbe17a79fb626b5285.jpg1947413279_Axlecrack2.thumb.jpg.0b10fb24d376e03e18d22b1e56755f2a.jpg
  • Like 1

I am restoring the same car, 1915 C25.  Please let us know where you live and if you mean to say the fastener on the left of your photo, it should unscrew, coarse thread fairly robust.  Here is a picture of one of my problems, loose rivets for the backing plate, also the point where the rear axle torsion rod attaches to the frame had loose rivets.  Modern brake linings are available and without asbestos.

Regards, Gary

DSC_1947.JPG