54 Pontiac chieftain

Grizz

It’s been a while since I been on here but I haven’t lost interest! Little over a year ago (I think) I posted about the chieftain and truck load of parts I scored for cheap. I finally got my garage built and the car out of the car port into indoor storage. Now what?? I’ve never worked on a car this old before but am up for the task. I have a shop manual and a parts catalog. My plan is to just get the thing road worthy. Making it pretty will come later. I have a couple questions. I have a 6v. Battery I want to keep that system. I would like to get all new wires. Everywhere. But I really would like to see this engine running. Maybe enough to move it back and forth under its own power. I took the carb apart when I first got the car and i think it’s ready to go. So should I just clean all my contacts, hook everything up and cross my fingers? Also, just to make room in the garage I’d like to get both front and back seats and maybe the door panels installed. Thoughts? Feelings? Insults? Any input would be much appreciated! 

555FDC72-30CE-4C52-8F26-02A3F51F114A.jpeg

468794B4-7839-4ADF-AAAB-03E3243BDAAF.jpeg

Don't go changing plugs, points, condenser, rotor, cap or any wiring.  Get a battery, jury rig a gravity fuel tank to your carb after you install it and start it.  I am willing to bet it will start and run, perhaps without even filing the points.  The big problem most/many people have is they start taking things off and replacing perfectly good parts and then when it doesn't run they don't know if it is some other problem or if some of the replaced parts are wrong or are connected wrong.  You are already ahead of the game with a parts book, a shop manual and knowing that we are here for you.

Good Luck.