DB26

How to Build a Diode Generator Cut Out Replacement

Hello everyone. I have a 1926 Dodge Brothers Deluxe sedan. It has a 4 cylinder engine with a 6 volt charging system. The generator and starter are separate units. I have read a comment somewhere (I can remember where) that you can modify a generator cut out with a diode to eliminate the possibility of the points sticking and possibly draining your battery or starting a fire, etc. 

Does anyone know how to do this modification? I am not an electronics expert, but know enough to be able to do it if I had the insurcrions. I have a bunch of diodes on hand too. Can anyone offer some advice? 

https://www.modeltford.com/item/5055DIO.aspx      This link is for a diode with insurcrions. A common upgrade for Ford T & A. Searching those forums bring many results. You can also add voltage regulation within the cutout housing. Positive & negative ground too.

Is the Dodge positive or negative ground?  Do you know the generator output in amps?

19 minutes ago, TerryB said:

Is the Dodge positive or negative ground?  Do you know the generator output in amps?

It’s positive ground. I don’t know the amp rating, but will try to find out. 

2 minutes ago, DB26 said:

It’s positive ground. I don’t know the amp rating, but will try to find out. 

The model t link is for neg ground, not that the diode cares but how the diode is inserted in the circuit matters as does the  amp rating that the diode has to have for the amount of charging current flowing through it.  Too small of amperage rating and the diode will overheat and fail.

• Like 1

The purpose of the cut-out or the diode is to stop current (amps) going back to the generator when its producing less voltage than the battery. This occurs when the generator rpm is too slow (ie, at idle) to produce enough voltage. Generator voltage is directly proportional to its speed. 

• Like 1