1927 Buick Distributor Frozen

Crazyfamily

I have a similar issue. I have a 1927 Buick Standard Six and the distributor has grown into generator and is frozen in place!!

So, it’s time to remove the entire distributor and “fix” this issue. So what the easiest way to proceed here?  Is it best to remove the generator to then be able to get the distributor out of the generator while working on s bench?

Obviously I just want to make sure I can successfully get the distributor out without damaging ANYTHING else including the generator gg, that I can get the parts I need to rebuild the distributor,  and reinstall everything and get the car running better than ever!

A friend of mine that I work with at the dealership has the car at his house and is giving me a hand with this, I am no mechanic that’s for sure however “Nick” is a master mechanic and while he has never worked on a car this vintage, I am not only fortunate enough to have Nick giving me hand, I am also fortunate enough to have many great members of this fine group who have provided me with the correct info including Hugh!!  The Man the Myth the Legend!!

Sorry for the book here, and if this was some of the “other” forums I am on I’d post a crazy motorcycle or boat picture with an attractive woman in it to get everyone’s attention but I’ll try to keep this on topic for the time being!😂😂🙌🏼

I do have a few questions, if I switch from

the infamous “1927 Potmetal Distributor” to the  1928 “Cast” Distributor housing does it just drop right into place and use all the 1927 internals I already have?? And can I use my existing 1927 generator with 1928 Cast distributor housing without changing anything else?

Any other path I should pursue in this process that will make life easier?