Dan T

1925 Doctors coupe

Hello everyone. My name is Dan.

I recently acquired a 1925 Dodge brothers coupe. It's in beautiful condition. It's a survivor.

It's all there. I have spark, compression but no fuel. It has a vacuum tank that is a fuel pump.

Can anyone tell me how to prime this fuel system? All input will be appreciated.

Does your coupe have a jump seat for the passenger and 3/4 seat in back? If so it is called either a four passenger coupe or Fisher coupe. If it only has seating for two it is a business coupe. DB never made a Dr.'s coupe or Opera coupe by name. There should/may be a pipe plug in the top of the vacuum tank. You can fill it with gas there. If not, take the lid off of the float chamber on the carb and fill it with gas. 

• Like 1

It must be a business coupe then I'm new to these cars. It was my understanding that the difference was wooden spoke wheels or steel wheels. No difference in the car.

It must be a business coupe then I'm new to these cars. It was my understanding that the difference was wooden spoke wheels or steel wheels. No difference in the car.

Disc wheels were starting to be used more around 1924 then before. Cars could still be had with either. The difference in coupes in the back seat. The Fisher or four passenger coupe is a wood bodied car like a Chevrolet. If you open the trunk the frame of the lid is wood. The doors have wood frames. And it should have a Body by Fisher tag on the right side of the cowl at the bottom. The business coupe only has one seat. I tried to google it but can't find good pictures that would show you the differences. If you can figure out how to post pictures here I will help you ID it. I have a '24 Fisher coupe. As to the vacuum tank the reprint above explains it very well, BUT can be confusing if you have never seen inside one before. Ask questions if you have problems with it. They can be very reliable. DO not go the electric pump direction.

20190608_190241.jpg

Posted (edited)