61polara

Lee Iacocca Died This Morning

Very sad to hear. He was quite talented in so many ways.

I remember him well during the Chrysler crisis and he inspired me with his confidence .

I remember when I worked in construction we had a Chrysler imperial drawn in on the driveway of an artists perspective of the front of a new building 

Edited by Mark Gregory (see edit history)

A few years ago, I was thinking of interviewing him

for our AACA regional newsletter.  I wanted his 

insights about the limited selection of today's options,

in contrast to prior years.  However, one person

who knew him said he wasn't doing so well, even then,

so I interviewed a different car executive.

He must have been an interesting man---

Edited by John_S_in_Penna (see edit history)

Sad to hear he has passed.

He changed the auto industry in countless ways.

Sad to hear. My dad has at least one of his books in his garage. I’ve been meaning to read it. 

He made a huge mark on the  American auto industry but will be remembered for the restoration of The Statue of Liberty as well. 

Bob 

• Like 1

Lee Iacocca was an excellent marketing man, as his efforts with his "$56 for '56" new-car financing campaign, bringing the Mustang and the Continental Mark III to market showed when he worked for Ford. But despite his early success with marketing the K-cars and the T-115 mini-vans, arguably, his best move while he was at Chrysler was purchasing Jeep/Eagle from Renault to get the iconic Jeep brand, which contributes to FCA's success in no small way to this day.

Craig

• Like 2

7 hours ago, 8E45E said: