Power Window problem

ptt

My '90 Convertible driverside power window rolls down about half way then starts making a loud ratcheting noise and stops going down.  It will go back up but when it gets all the way up to the top it does the same loud ratcheting noise.  I removed the door panel and felt around on the curved sprocket to see if the teeth had stripped but they felt OK.  As the motor moves the window just halfway up and down could it be something inside it has stripped gearwise?  Also, do holes have to be drilled through the inner door skin to access the rivets that mount the motor itself?  Is there a video tutorial on the Reatta power window repair somewhere online???  Thanks.  

Just read those instructions.  Even though I am a mechanic, the warnings about spring tension release scared me.  I will proceed with caution on my parts cars, for removal.   I also see power window motors on ebay all the time, supposed NOS (yet they source them from SE Asia, hhmmm)  that are motor only. 

When I turned wrenches I worked on Subarus and Mazdas and did my fair share of power window motors R & R's.  But always was amazed at the difficulty the guys working on Pontiacs (one of our other dealership brands, and obviously GM) had with their power window removals and replacement.  Drilling through rivets? 

If you can update this thread, with photos - that would be great.  I will try and do the same.

That's funny, I just had the same thing happen to me in my 89 coupe.  It sounds like some gears are grinding when I try to roll the window up and I can shake the window to get it to roll all the way down but then I have to pull it all the way up.  the window is working fine before the car sat for two months while I tried to repair it and then once I started driving it again I noticed the window was not working right.

3 hours ago, Spazzaroth said: