Is this a hobby better suited to be born into?

mrcvs

Nature vs nurture?

In several previous rants, I admit I have great trouble with keeping anything actually running and it's with great difficulty I get from point A to point B.  I am self taught, which means I haven't learned much.

It would have been better I think, had I grown up around this stuff, which is why I am struggling now.  I think it will be a problem in future generations, and so maybe I should just tell "my story" and go from there.

My grandfather could fix anything!  He had a '66 GTO he kept for many years, and I think he wanted me to keep it going.  But I didn't show much interest as I wanted really early.  There was an automotive elective in high school and, if you are college material, you are dissuaded from taking it.  Wish I had!

When I was interested in the GTO, finally, I was out of college.  Could not find a job locally.  Hence, moved distant, rental properties not conducive to working on cars...and moving them.  Now that I am pushing 50, at least I have my own property, although not ideal for cars.  But I struggle. Wish my grandfather was still around!  My father lives distant and is in frail health.

I see this scenario being problematic for younger generations.  Especially those with student loans and transient living arrangements.  I know enough about cars now as I should have at 12!

One of the many perils of a college degree.  Too much specialization does not allow for local employment and residential stability long term, and the ability to pursue, and get good at, such hobbies young.

Unless you pursue a trade.  Go into less debt and reside locally.  Of course, this was discouraged by high school administrators for obvious reasons.

A very real situation for the up and coming.

@mrcvs brings up a good point about school administrators pushing college as the only viable career path.

The US is seriously lacking in skilled tradesmen.