41 V12 coolant system questions

bwanapete

I'm new to this '41 Continental.  Today was a 25 mile drive, first since my acquisition.  Got home and the car leaked coolant in a puddle 3' diameter on the concrete garage floor but seems not to have leaked on the way into the garage.  Gauge had been about 3/4 to hot.

1.  With aluminum heads, what antifreeze to use?

2.  If the leak came from the overflow pipe, as I suspect, does this mean I need a new cap, and if so, I'd need advice on selection.  Since there is also leaked antifreeze on the panel in front of the bottom of the radiator, maybe the overflow pipe is not the source, but there is also a little antifreeze behind the radiator.  The lower hose does not look as new as the upper hoses but I don't think that if it leaked, there would be the mess in front of the radiator.

3.  Maybe it was simply overfilled by the seller.  After it cooled down, I looked and could see liquid about 4 or 5 inches down.  Is that considered full?

Could be close to normal!  But  you need to have good head gaskets w/pumps and hoses to start with and a clean radiator. 
If you start with a full radiator and  give  the motor a good drive 10 miles highway speed and stop it will have lost some fluid even drop some coolant on the spot and find its happy level .