MrILO

Possible purchase of a Riviera 65 GS

Hi. This is my first post, from Italy. Hello.

Let me introduce myself first. I'm an electrical engineer, living in the North of Italy.

Over the years I've been working for a few automotive companies, mainly writing firmware, before starting my own engineering company 20 years ago - we're now a bunch of 10 people.

I have a couple of classic cars that I take care of in person in all the evenings I spend in my garage. If a complex transmission or engine work is needed, I must rely on a very good friend, a top mechanic. However, I can do quite a lot of other things but I don't consider myself an accomplished mechanic. I can do pretty much everything electric though :)
My grandad had a Buick Riviera 1965 (not GS), before selling it out to but a Lancia Fulvia 1600 HF that I will take care of until my son or daughter takes over :).

By chance I came across a Riviera 1965 GS (allegedly), at a reasonable price, in what may be a good condition. I'm going to check it out next week.

I'm tempted, frankly. The Riviera of '65 is gorgeous, and I have a soft tooth for it for the very obvious reason that it was my grand dad's.

I'm not an expert on these cars and I've been lurking and trying to learn as much as possible in a short time. I know I must check the LX and BS stampings to check if it's a real GS (I wouldn't be interested otherwise). It has all the GS plaques in the right place.

From pictures, interiors are in excellent shape, chromed bumpers may need new chroming.

Car has been repainted, I don't have the Fisher body plate picture yet, but the door hinge plate and the motor numbers match. The door hinge plate has been painted over during repaint (so that I'm SURE the car was repainted :) ), but the colour matches, from what I can tell, the original burgundy mist.

Car number and motor number match.