Floor pan repair

60series

Hi all, 

This is my first post, thanks for letting me join the forums. I was unsure what thread to post this under so sorry if it's wrong. I have a 1986 Toyota 60 Series landcruiser with rusty floor pans. I've never ever done any panel repair but was told floor pans are quite easy to do. I asked the panel shop and they said if i don't get rid of the 'black pitting' from the metal it'll continue to rust no matter what. I sandblasted the worst of it and cut the worst of it but have some black pitting left in other spots. 

I thought that if you used the right rust converter, and primed and painted it that would remove the oxygen/water from it and once it's sealed it would be impossible for it to rust since rust needs oxygen? I was then going to paint and seal the underside of the pans. Sorry if i'm using broad terms, i'm just very new to this. I do trust the shop, they've done heaps of work for me and it's always been 100% and i am returning soon for more work but was hoping to do my floors myself as a learning curve. 

Thanks! 

Welcome aboard.  You are asking a question which you will get many answers and so far you have done every thing correctly.  The only thing that will stop rust completely is new metal and even that isn't fool proof.  The second thing you can do is sand blast the metal which you did and now is where you will get differences of opinion.  The black pits are as you said rust pits and will ultimately rerust and the question is when.  Some people like converters but I do not.  Most of the good reviews come from the companies selling them.  There are many products which contain phosphoric acid which I prefer.  (navel jelly).  If it were a smaller item I prefer electrolysis.

You are correct in trying to seal the metal and you should use a epoxy primer followed by a 2K primer.  I like Southern Polly products.

8 hours ago, Dave Henderson said: