Minerva mascot - is it, or isn't it???

A friend discovered this in his mother's home after helping her to move recently and was wondering about it. I've had it in my hands a while now and have done a lot of investigating, comparing photos in reference books and mascots in other collections. I'm of the opinion this is a repro, but thought I'd post my concerns and let the crowd weigh in on the topic. It isn't for sale at this time but the owner will no doubt eventually be trying to figure out what to do with it as he is not a mascot or automobilia collector.

For background, I'm only an amateur mascot collector. Have a few nice ones and like to learn everything about what I've got. Was a good friend of the late Bill Williams and provided him some of the European contacts he used when preparing his book on mascots, so I've been around them a while and always keep an eye on auctions and sales. Here are my concerns.

First, it's chrome-plated brass. While not a deal breaker, the best and earliest of them were silver or nickle plated.

Most I've seen that are undoubtedly genuine are marked with a signature on the base of the sculptor, P.de.Soete. Additionally, under the back rear of the helmet, they are marked "PD" in a circle. 

Looking at the photos, this one has no sculptor's signature but is marked very crudely, with the "PD" logo. Compared to known originals, this logo lacks the definition and level of crispness I'd expect. A look under there tells me is is not a great casting and has been poorly finished, with deep file marks evident.