1932 DeSoto Head Gasket Replacement

Touringcuda

It looks like my first move is getting the hood off.

I have never removed the hood assembly. Is there an easy, time tested way of non destructive removal. 

I am studying the hood assembly and could use some advice on the best method for a trouble free removal.

The two slot head machine screws next to the radiator do not look to be a problem.

Will the hood assembly lift in the front center and slide forward and out of the rear bracket?

I am thinking that I do not want to remove the rear slot head screws because there may be nuts below them that may disappear into the cowl.

Will appreciate any advice.

Not sure on the '32 DeSoto but my '33 Plymouth was designed by the same people so it could be similar.

The slotted screws on the back (top of firewall) are into captive nuts. At least on my car they weren't too hard to remove. But rust and corrosion being what it is your experience may vary. You can do a quick look under the dash to confirm there aren't nuts there, but I am pretty confident you'll find you need not worry about losing nuts into the cowl.

Getting the hood off without marring the paint needs some care. I've actually done it once by myself but I'd highly recommend you get someone to help you on both the removal and installation. The four pieces of the hood all hinged together make for an assembly that can quickly get out of hand and drop on something.

For what it is worth, I've had the head off my car without removing the hood. Biggest issue is getting the temperature sensing bulb out of the head without twisting off the capillary tube. On the '33 Plymouth there is a small freeze/core/welch plug above the bulb with I think might make accessing the back of the bulb possible and allow you to push the bulb out rather than pulling on the capillary. I say might because I noticed that after I did the deed and needed to replace the bulb and capillary I broke in the process.