Repairing Top frame wood

Brooklyn Beer

Looking at a 1929 four door sedan that has an issue with some wood framing needing replaced as well as the top.  All wood is in the roof section. One piece looks to be along the front / visor area and the other is one of the back corners.  Being the top would be coming off in the future fall for replacement just how big of a job is it replacing pieces?  I am not a novice or even handyman wood worker by any means but not a furniture maker either. Have most tooling of a cabinet shop as I do like to dabble in making things. Large band saw, table saw, pocket hole machine, router table, joiner, surface planner, etc.. I have good knowledge of joining lumber through mortising, etc.    So in the skinny, how did Franklin join their framing together? I am sure our glues and joinery has advanced today for sure.  When replacing framing like this just how much of the car needs disassembled? The rest of the lower side of the car seems fine with no sag in the frame. I would be the 4th owner of the car and the maintenance of the car with records since new is top notch. Just an older 1960's restoration that has some issues that need addressed but is a very mechanically sound car.  I am guess the top replacement is would the easier of the issues.?  Any input on that as well ?

Franklin didn't join them, Walker did. :D

Walker Body Co. of  Amesbury Mass built the that body for Franklin. http://www.coachbuilt.com/bui/w/walker/walker.htm

They had their own style of wood layout and where/how joints are. Rather strong compared to some of the  competition.  They used casine glues and steel screws in the joints. Then steel plates over graphite asbestos "anti-squeak" paper screwed on at key areas.  Then it was painted black to help seal it.

You can do the same using slow-cure marine grade epoxy glue, or Weldwood or Elmer's Carpenter's glue, and wood screws.